Committees and Organization

Structure of the Cooperative State University

The Berufsakademie BW was transformed into the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University on 1 March 2009. The DHBW is the first dual-system, career-integrated university in Germany. It is a legal entity under public law and a public institution in a formal sense. The decentralised structure of the Cooperative State University is unique in Germany and based on the state university system in the United States. The university’s main administration with the Executive Board, Supervisory Board and Senate is located in Stuttgart. The eight DHBW locations have their own structures, each with a President, University Council and Academic Senate. Responsibilities and contact persons continue to be maintained.